How to Disable the Continue Playback Notification in VLC Media Player

The latest version of the VideoLAN VLC media player has a new feature that allows you to continue the playback of the media file where you stopped it the last time. For example, if you play a video in VLC media player but close the VLC player window before watching the whole video, then the next time you open that same video, VLC will ask you whether you want to restart the playback where it was left off. This is very annoying if you do not want to resume the playback from the same place. Besides the notification appears only for a split second and only a person with really nimble fingers can hit the Continue button in time.

VLC Restart Playback

Fortunately it is very easy to disable the restart/continue playback notification in the VLC media player:

  1. Launch VLC media player and then select Tools → Preferences from the menubar. Alternatively, you can also press the hotkey Ctrl+P to open the preferences.
  2. In the preferences window choose to display the Simple preferences at the very bottom of the window.
  3. Select the Interface tab and then uncheck the checkbox labeled Continue playback.VLC Restart Playback
  4. Click on the Save button to save the preferences and close the preferences window.

Now if you re-open a video file in VLC media player without finishing it the first time, VLC will no longer bother you with the prompts to resume the playback of that video. If you want to find out where you left off, then you can use the old school method of fast forwarding and checking which parts of a video you haven’t watched till now. This can be done very easily using the hotkey Ctrl + Right which skips the frame one minute at a single keypress. For longer jumps in the time line, you can use the hotkey Ctrl + Alt + Right which jumps 5 minutes into the time line.