Disable delete confirmation in Windows Vista
When you delete a file in Windows Vista, it asks you for a confirmation : if you really want to delete that file? If this annoys you too much, then you would want to disable this delete confirmation. After disabling the delete confirmation, you no longer will be asked this confirmation and Windows will immediately delete the selected files or folders. Here is how :
- Right click on the Recycle Bin icon on your desktop.
- From the right click context menu select Properties as shown,
- In the Recycle Bin properties window, un-check the checkbox labeled Display delete confirmation dialog
- Click OK to save the settings.
Note that the delete confirmation dialog acts as a safeguard against accidental deletion of files. If you accidentally press the Del key on your keyboard, then it might result in important documents being deleted. So it is recommened not to disable the delete confirmation dialog permanently.