When you delete files in Windows 10, it sends the files to the Recycle Bin. This is very useful in case you accidentally delete some files. You can recover your deleted files from the Recycle Bin easily. But when you are knowingly deleting some files it is a waste of the processing power to first move the files to the Recycle Bin. Besides on the solid state drives (SSD) it can also result in the shortening of the average life cycle of the drives. If you do not want the files to be moved to the Recycle Bin when you delete them, then you can follow these simple steps:
- Right-click on the Recycle Bin icon on your desktop. When the right-click menu shows up, select Properties from this menu.
- In the Recycle Bin Properties window, you have to select the option Don’t move files to the Recycle Bin. Remove files immediately when deleted.
- Click on the OK button to save the settings. Now when you delete files, they will be deleted without first being moved to the Recycle Bin.
You should use this feature only when you are deleting large number of files and do not want to wait for them to move to the Recycle Bin and later empty the Recycle Bin. One other situation is when deleting large number of files on a SSD. If you are going to delete all the files from a disk drive, then skipping the Recycle Bin is going to make the deletion process faster, but in this case you can also just quick-format the entire disk to get rid of all the files.
Conclusion: You can customize Windows 10 to skip the Recycle Bin when deleting files. This can not only make the whole file erasing process a little faster, but it can also improve the average life cycle of your SSD’s.