Windows 8 tends to make your experience free of usual annoyances you have seen in earlier versions of Windows. For example, when you delete a file in Windows 8, you will not see any confirmation dialog like you see in Windows 7 or Vista. The file just gets deleted and sent to the Recycle Bin without it pestering you with any confirmation. But this means that if you accidentally hit the delete key, a file might be sent to the Recycle Bin and you can keep scratching your head as to where it went. Luckily, if you want then you can enable the old style confirmation dialog when you try to delete a file or folder. Here is how you can do this:
- Switch to Windows Desktop using the hotkey Windows key + D.
- On the desktop, right-click on the Recycle Bin icon and select Properties from the context menu.
- In the Recycle Bin Properties window, check the checkbox labeled Display delete confirmation dialog as shown in the following picture:
- Click on the OK button to save the settings.
If later you want to make Windows 8 delete files silently without bothering you, then you can uncheck this option again in the same manner as mentioned in the above steps. I personally keep this option checked as it saves you from accidentally deleting files many times.