Something strange happened when I was on Youtube a few days ago. I could not view some of the videos and the comments section said that comments are hidden because of Safety Mode. I do not remember setting the safety mode in Youtube, but there it was – the Safety Mode was hiding the comments and videos that it thought were inappropriate for me. This was annoying at first, but soon I figured out how to disable or turn off Safety Mode in Youtube. But first I wanted to know what is this Safety Mode and why was it enabled?
What is Safety Mode in Youtube?
The Safety Mode in Youtube is an opt-in setting that blocks inappropriate content (comments and videos) on Youtube. It determines the content is inappropriate if many users and other signals have flagged it inappropriate. The Safety Mode is enabled for your Youtube account no matter on which computer you use it. Although Safety Mode is touted as a parental control feature for Youtube by Google, it does not work all the time.
How to turn off Safety Mode in Youtube?
It is very easy to turn off Safety Mode setting i Youtube. First of all you have to visit the Youtube webpage and then scroll down to the very bottom of the webpage. Since Youtube keeps loading the content dynamically as you scroll down, you may have to try two three times before you finally reach the bottom of the webpage.
At the bottom, you can see the Safety Mode setting and whether it is enabled or disabled (on or off). Click on this Safety Mode and you would see a drop-down menu where you can choose the value Off for it. After this, you can click on the Save button to save the settings.
If everything goes okay, Youtube webpage will reload and a confirmation message shall be shown in green color saying “Successfully disabled safety mode”.
Now you can browse Youtube, watch videos and read or write comments without anything being blocked. But if you are sharing the computer with your family, and do not want anyone to watch inappropriate videos, then you can turn on the Safety Mode again.