Outlook.com is Microsoft’s free email service available for everyone. You can access it through any web browser (webmail), through Microsoft’s Outlook.com apps for Android or iPhone, through Outlook email client, or through third-party email client software like Mozilla Thunderbird. If you have Outlook.com account then you can also use it for signing in to your Windows PC because it is essentially a Microsoft account. The same account can also be used for other Microsoft services like Xbox or Skype.
But if you have been using multiple Outlook.com accounts and want to get rid of the extra accounts that you no longer use anymore, then you can permanently close it by following these simple steps:
- In your desktop PC web browser, login to your Outlook.com account by visiting https://www.outlook.com/.
- In the same web browser, navigate to http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=523898.
- You will have to verify your Outlook.com account by entering a code sent to your secondary email address or to your mobile phone associated with your Outlook.com account.
- Read all the necessary steps which tells you to take some steps so that you don’t lose information. Then click on the Next button to continue.
- On the next screen, select all the checkboxes, select a reason to tell them why you are closing the account and then click on the Mark account for closure button.
- Now you will be shown a final date on which your Outlook.com account will be finally closed permanently.
Microsoft does not close your account instantly. But it gives you a period of 60 days in which you can change your mind and recover your account. If you want to recover your account within 60 days, you can just login to your Outlook.com account using any of the Microsoft services. If you do not login to your Outlook.com account in next 60 days then it will be permanently closed down.